HISTORY – IMPORTANT DATES

Indian History:

- 1850 Law passed by Lord Dalhousie that entitled a person to convert to Christianity to inherit ancestral property
- 1856 General Service Enlistment Act passed by British
- 1857 First War of Independence; Revolt of the Sepoys
- 10th May 1857 Revolt of the sepoys at Meerut
- 8th April 1857 Mangal Pande was arrested and hanged
- 1858 Government of India Act passed by British; Rule of East India Company came to an end
- 1st November 1858 Queen Victoria's Proclamation
- 1866 East India Association organized by Dadabhai Naoroji
- 1876 Indian Association of Calcutta formed by Surendranath Banerjee
- 1877 Mohammedan Anglo-Oriental College at Aligarh founded by Sir Syed Ahmed Khan
- 1877 Delhi Durbar held by Lord Lytton
- 1878 Indian Arms Act passed by Lord Lytton
- 1878 Vernacular Press Act passed by Lord Lytton
- 1882 Vernacular Press Act repealed by Lord Ripon
- 1883 Indian National Congress was founded
- 1885 Indian National Congress was founded
- 28th to 31st December 1885 First conference of Indian National Congress
- 1886 Indian National Congress merged with All India National Conference
- 1885 to 1905 Moderate Phase
- 1905 to 1918 Radical Phase
- 1919 to 1947 Gandhian Era
- 1892 Indian Councils Act passed by British

- 1893 Mohammedan Anglo-Oriental Defense Association was founded
- 1898 and 1902 Surendranath Banerjee elected President of congress
- 1904 Universities Act passed by Lord Curzon
- 1904 Official Secrets Act passed by Lord Curzon
- 1905 Gopal Krishna Gokhale was President of annual session of Congress at Banaras (now Varanasi)
- 1905 Servants of India Society founded by Gopal Krishan Gokhale
- 1905 Partition of Bengal announced by Lord Curzon
- 7th August 1905 Anti-partition Movement was started
- 16th October 1905 Effective day of partition of Bengal; Observed as Raksha Bandhan Day
- 1906 Split between Radicals and Moderates was averted by Dadabhai Naoroji at annual session of Congress in Kolkata
- 1906 All-India Muslim League was formed at Dacca
- 1907 Surat Session of Congress; Splitting up of Radicals and Moderates
- 1909 Minto-Morley Reforms (i.e. revised version of Indian Councils Act) passed by British
- 1911 Partition of Bengal was cancelled
- 1913 Muslim League declared at its annual session that its aim was self-governance
- 1914 to 1918 First World War
- 1914 to 1917 National Movement
- 1916 Radicals and Moderates united at Lucknow session of Congress; Lucknow Pact
- 1916 Home Rule Leagues launched by Tilak and Annie Besant
- 1917 August Declaration (Montague-Chelmsford Declaration)/ Montague-Chelmsford Reforms
- 1919 Government of India Act was passed
- 1919 Jallianwala Bagh Tragedy
- 1919 Rowlatt Act (also known as the Black Act) was passed
- 1920 Non-cooperation Movement was started
- 1922 Swaraj Party was organized

- 1927 Simon Commission
- 1928 Nehru Report was submitted
- 1928 Lala Lajpat Rai died of lathi charges while demonstrating against the Simon Commission
- 1929 Congress Session at Lahore and Poorna Swaraj Resolution
- 1930 Civil Disobedient Movement was launched
- 1933 Civil Disobedience Movement was suspended
- 1934 Civil Disobedient Movement was withdrawn
- 1939 Forward Bloc was founded by Subhas Chandra Bose
- 22nd December 1939 Day of resignation of Congress Ministries celebrated as a day of deliverance by Muslim League
- 1940 August Offer was made by Lord Linlithgow
- 1942 Tokyo Conference and formation of Indian National Army
- 1942 Cripps Mission
- 1942 Quit India Resolution/Movement; Revolt of 1942
- 1945 Lord Wavell's Plan
- 1945-46 Cabinet Mission Plan
- 30th July 1946 Direct Action Resolution was passed by Muslim League
- 16th August 1946 Day of Protest for Muslim League known as Direct Action Day
- 26th October 1946 Interim Government was formed
- 20th February 1947 Announced that British Government would leave Indian by June 1948
- 1947 Mountbatten Plan
- 1947 Indian Independence Act
- 14th August 1947 Independence Day for Pakistan; Formation of Pakistan
- 15th August 1947 Independence Day for India
- 26th January 1950 Republic Day for India

World History:

1914 to 1918 - First World War

1871 - Franco - Prussian War

1905 - Moroccan Crisis

1906 to 1909 – Bosnian Crisis also known as Balkan Tension

28th June 1914 – Assassination of Archduke Francis Ferdinand of Austria at Sarajevo

1917 – US entered the war

1917 - Russian Revolution

28th June 1919 – Treaty of Versailles was signed in France

1920 - League of Nations was established

1919 - Hitler joined NSDAP, i.e. National Socialist Party

1933 – Hitler formed the first Nazi government

1934 – Hitler adopted the title of Fuehrer Weimer Republic ended and Third Reich of Hitler began

1936 - Anti-Comintern Pact between Japan and Germany

1937 to 1939 – Second World War

1938 – Hitler invaded Austria and annexed it into the German empire; Anschluss declared

1938 – Anglo-Italian Pact between Britain and Italy, also known as 'a gentleman's pact' was signed

1938 – Munich Pact signed by Italy, Germany, Britain, France

1939 - Invasion of Poland, Nazi-Soviet Aggression Pact was signed

1940 - Rome-Berlin-Tokyo Axis

7th December 1941 – Attack on Pearl Harbor

1945 - Mussolini shot to death

7th May 1945 – German forces surrendered

6th August 1945 – Bombing at Hiroshima and Nagasaki

2nd September 1945 – Japanese surrendered

1947 – Marshall Plan

1947 - Truman Doctrine

1945 to 1991-92 - Cold War

1949 - NATO was signed

1955 – Warsaw Pact was signed

3rd October 1990 – East Germany joined West Germany

1941 - London Declaration (U.N.)

1941 - Atlantic Charter was issued

1942 – Washington Declaration

1943 – Moscow Declaration

1944 - Dumbarton Oaks Conference

1945 – Conference at Yalta

24th October 1945 – Charter of the United Nations Organization came into force

1946 – United Nations Children's Fund (UNICEF) was created

1946 – United Nations Educational, Scientific, and Cultural Organization (UNESCO) was set up

7th April 1948 – World Health Organization (WHO) was set up

10th December 1948 – Universal Declaration of Human Rights was adopted by the U.N. General Assembly

December 10th – Human Rights Day

1993 – India set up its Human Rights Commission