Basic grammar — Where some students go wrong


English I – Improve your writing with these quick tips!

Impact Writing

Present / Past continuous tense …When to use and when not to use

Use of present / past continuous sense is

a. Wrong in certain occasions.
b. Undesirable and unnecessary in some occasions
c. Essential in some situations.
β€”β€”β€”β€”β€”β€”β€”β€”β€”β€”β€”β€”β€”β€”β€”β€”β€”
a. When it is wrong …

I am feeling tired. (Not correct)
I feel tired (Correct)
β€”β€”β€”-
I am feeling sleepy. (Wrong)
I feel sleepy. (Correct)
β€”β€”β€”β€”-
I am feeling hungry. (Incorrect)
I feel hungry. (Correct)
β€”β€”β€”β€”β€”β€”β€”β€”β€”β€”β€”β€”β€”β€”β€”β€”β€”
b. When it should be avoided

When I was a small tea-shop owner, I was visiting my bank only once a month to deposit the surplus earnings in my wife’s account. (Avoid)

When I was a small tea-shop owner, I visited (or used to visit) my bank only once a month to deposit the surplus earnings in my wife’s account. (Desirable…

View original post 293 more words